British India


883 Kind Alfred the Great sends Sighelm on a pilgramige to India 1497 Vasco de Gama reaches the spice port of Calicut on the coast of India 1600 Queen Elizabeth grants a charter to the East India Company 1600 1st East India Company ship sails 1661 Charles II recieves Bombay from Catherine of Braganza as her dowry. 1757 Battle of Plassey: Robert Clive and the British defeat Siraj-ud-daulah 1760 Battle of Wandiwash: The British defeat the French 1761 Third battle of Panipat: Ahrned Shah Abdali defeats the Marathas; Accession of Madhava Rao Peshwa; Rise of Hyder Ali 1764 Battle of Buxar: The British defeat Mir Kasim 1765 The British get Diwani Rights in Bengal, Bihar and Orissa 1767-1769 First Mysore War: The British conclude a humiliating peace pact with Hyder Ali 1772 Death of Madhava Rao Peshwa; Warren Hastings appointed as Governor of Bengal 1773 The Regulating Act passed by the British Parliament 1774 Warren Hastings appointed as Governor-General 1775-1782 The First Anglo-Maratha war 1780-1784 Second Mysore War: The British defeat Hyder Ali 1784 Pitt's India Act 1790-1792 Third Mysore War hetween the British and Tipu 1793 Permanent Settlement of Bengal 1794 Death of Mahadaji Sindhia 1799 Fourth Mysore War: The British defeat Tipu; Death of Tipu; Partition of Mysore 1802 Treaty of Bassein 1803-1805 The Second Anglo-Maratha war: The British defeat the Marathas at Assaye: Treaty of Amritsar 1814-1816 The Anglo-Gurkha war 1817-1818 The Pindari war 1817-1819 The last Anglo-Maratha war: Marathas fmally crushed by the British 1824-1826 The First Burmese war 1829 Prohibition of Sati 1829-1837 Suppression of Thuggee 1831 Raja of Mysore deposed and its administration taken over by East India Company 1833 Renewal of Company's Charter; Abolition of company's trading rights 1835 Education Resolution 1838 Tripartite treaty between Shah Shuja, Ranjit Singh and the British 1839-1842 First Afghan war 1843 Gwalior war 1845-1846 First Anglo-Sikh war 1848 Lord Dalhousie becomes the Governor-General 1848-1849 Second Anglo-Sikh war: (Rise of Sikh Power) British annex Punjab as Sikhsare defeated 1852 Second Anglo-Burmese war 1853 Railway opened from Bombay to Thane; Telegraph line from Calcutta to Agra 1857 First Independence: The Sepoy Mutiny 1858 British Crown takes over the Indian Government. The British Raj at its height is 1857-1905 1868 Punjab Tenancy Act; Railway opened from Ambala to Delhi 1877 Delhi Durbar: The Queen of England proclaimed Empress of India 1878 Vernacular Press Act 1881 Factory Act; Rendition of Mysore 1885 First meeting of the Indian National Congress; Bengal Tenancy Act 1891 Indian Factory Act 1892 Indian Councils Act to regulate Indian administration 1897 Plague in Bombay; Famine Commission 1899 Lord Curzon becomes Governor-General and Viceroy 1905 The First Partition of Bengal 1906 Formation of Muslim League; Congress declaration regarding Swaraj 1908 Newspaper Act 1911 Delhi Durbar; Partition of Bengal modified to create the Presidency of Bengal 1916 Home Rule League founded; Foundation of Women's University at Poona 1919 Rowlatt Act evokes protests; Jalianwalla Bagh massacre; The Montague-Chehnsford Reforms offer limited autonomy Gandhian Era begins 1920 The Khilafat Movement started; Mahatma Gandhi leads the Congress; Non-c~operation Movement 1921 Moplah (Muslim) rebellion in Malabar; Census of India 1922 Civil Disobedience Movement; Chauri-Chaura violence leads to Gandhi suspending movement 1923 Swarajists in Indian Councils; Certification of Salt Tax; Hindu-Muslim riots 1925 Reforms Enquiry committee Report 1929 Lord Irwin promises Dominion Status for India; Trade Union split; Jawaharlal Nehru hoists the National Flag at Lahore 1930 Civil Disobedience movement continues; Salt Satyagraha: Gandhi's Dandi March; First Round Table Conference 1931 Second Round Table Conference; Irwin-Gandhi Pact; Census of India 1932 Suppression of the Congress movement; Third Round Table Conference; The Communal Award; Poona Pact 1933 Publication of White Paper on Indian reforms 1934 Civil Disobedience Movement called off Bihar Earthquake 1935 Government of India Act 1937 Inauguration of Provincial Autonomy; Congress ministries formed in a majority of Indian provinces 1939 Political deadlock in India as Congress ministries resign 1942 Cripps Mission to India; Congress adopts Quit India Resolution; Congress leaders arrested; Subbash Chandra Bose forms Indian National Army 1944 Gandhi-Jinnah Talks break down on Pakistan issue 1945 First trial of the Indian Army men opened 1946 Mutiny in Royal Indian Navy; Cabinet Mission's plan announced; Muslim League decides to participate in the Interim Government; Interim Government formed; Constituent Assembly's first meeting 3 June 1947 Announcement of Lord Mountbatten's plan for partition of India 15 Aug 1947 Partition of India and Independence

British Imperialism

Political Aspects          Economic Aspects          Social Aspects


 R.K. Narayan           Salman Rushdie          E.M. Forester